Hi!

It’s me again- Mal the Beef Gal. Just wanted to give you my two cents worth of the newest discovery that is currently blowing up my Facebook page and Twitter feed. However, it’s something not to be afraid of, and I think my fellow ag-vocates and I can easily champion an aspect of this story:  the U.S. food safety system works! But let’s back up. What’s the problem? Well, a case of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) was confirmed in Central California, but there are a few key facts to take away from this story.

1. The cow did NOT enter the food supply.

2. The disease can NOT be transferred from the cow’s milk.

3. The food safety system in the U.S. works!

To learn more about BSE visit this site.

Feel free to ask any questions you may have, and I can help you find the person with the answer if I am unaware.

Thank you in advance for believing in the American food safety system and continuing to eat the safe, wholesome,and nutritious product that is BEEF and drinking a product that helps keep you healthy and strong:  MILK!

Don’t get mad-get glad that YOUR food system is SAFE!

~Mal the Beef Gal

