Hello!

As you know by now it is the third day of BEEF month, and we are rockin’ and rollin’ in the beef cattle community! I’ve decided to pay tribute to the hard workin’, ag-vocating folks out there who help spread their message with beefy-T’s by creating a challenge that will hopefully last longer than the month of May! What is a beefy-T, you may ask. Join in the fun and participate in Mal the Beef Gal’s (yes, that’s me!) Beefy-T Challenge!

The name of the game is to post a picture of you or someone you know in your favorite beefy-T and tell us where you got it and the consumer conversations that have come from it! Throughout the month I will be featuring some of the shared stories on my blog (don’t worry about finding it, you are already here!).

Today’s featured story comes from a woman who lives in the salad bowl of the world, but she sure knows a thing or two (actually a lot more than that!) about the beef industry! She is the past president of the California Women for Agriculture and she is the leading lady of the “Fashion Friday” segment on Loos Tales. Check it out when you get a chance! She coins herself the Couture Cowgirl (check out her blog), and she is a dear friend of mine. I am pleased, without further delay, to introduce—Celeste Settrini!

From Celeste:

‘I was in the beef section picking up some hamburger when a young women next to me was loading up her cart with steaks, ribs, and burgers- she looked at me a bit embarrassed and said, “Oh I know, I should not be buying so much beef. But my family really loves it.” I looked back at her, gave her a high five, and said, “Rock on sister! I am a cattlemen’s daughter, and we are beef producers right up the road from here. Don’t be embarrassed to be buying beef for your family!” Then I went into the usual chat from our MBA booklet about lean beef being good for us, etc. She seemed pleased that I gave her permission to buy beef.’

This is a point that I would like to bring up and is explained perfectly by Celeste:  the beef industry has a lot of fans, but sometimes they may just need that extra little nudge to feel “guilt free” about their support. Often times peer pressure is a dependent factor for consumers. But if you are genuine, respectful, and kind you may just make a few more friends along the way of educating them about the beef community. I’m working on this with a couple of vegetarian girls that I just met–and it’s working! More to come on that at a later date!

Until then, keep posting pictures, and accept the Beefy-T Challenge!
~Mal the Beef Gal

