Fourteen weeks ago this Sunday I embarked on a journey across the country with my grandmother, my Ford Escape, and my largest suitcase named Bertha. In just four days I will be making the journey back home to California with my friend Patsy, my Ford Escape, my largest suitcase name Bertha, and some of the best memories that I have made in my entire life.

The journey that was my summer consisted of an internship at Certified Angus Beef, LLC with their marketing and public relations teams. But it wasn’t just any internship. The folks that I have had the chance to meet and interact with over this past summer have truly made a difference in my life, and I appreciate every single one of them.

Here I am with the CAB sign in front of the Executive Office in Wooster, OH.

It’s a very humbling experience to be able to work with some of the finest folks in the beef industry that the U.S. has to offer. Who would have guessed I would have the chance to work with them in Wooster, OH! Yes, that’s where the world headquarters of Certified Angus Beef, LLC is! Woo-hoo!

Throughout the summer I had the chance to work on many projects. Some of which included media appearances with the CAB chefs (didn’t know we had chefs? Neither did I–at first!), planning consumer sampling events in Oklahoma and Cleveland, traveling to neighboring states to Ohio to help facilitate retail corporate trainings, and best of all–enjoying Certified Angus Beef products all summer long–among many other things!

While I am excited to come home and begin my senior year at Cal Poly, SLO (YIKES, where did the time go?!), it is with heavy feet I pack my things to prepare for the journey West. There was no way I could have predicted the experiences that I would have this summer. But if one thing’s true, it’s that this internship exceeded my expectations above and beyond what I could have ever imagined!

I’ll leave you with this:

How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.
~Winnie the Pooh

Many gracious thanks to Certified Angus Beef, LLC and the unconditional support they give to young people interested and passionate about making a difference in the U.S. beef industry! Thank you for helping me learn so much and come so far from this past June in my professional and personal development.

Sin-steer-ly,

Mal the [Certified Angus] Beef Gal

