Good evening all!

I hope you had a fantastic Halloween! I know I had an interesting day people watching on Cal Poly’s campus. Today I saw a dude in a woman’s sexy devil outfit (more scary than you think!), a guy on stilts (on his feet and hands…), a guy wearing only a towel (your guess is as good as mine as to what he was aiming for in his costume choice), and a princess ready to storm her castle any moment. Me? I dressed in my bright orange pumpkin-esque jacket and called it good! Twenty-one years of growing up around a pumpkin patch will do that to a girl–I’m kind of fond of the squash.

A couple weeks ago my mom found a recipe for snickerdoodle bread on pinterest and mailed it to me. Knowing full well that my favorite cookie in bread form could do my hips more danger than it was worth, I decided to bake a loaf tonight for Halloween anyway!

This single-handedly could have been the best decisions of my life, speaking in exaggerated terms.

I only recently became what I would call a kitchen gambler. Cooking has never been my strong point, but when I feel ambitious in the kitchen it almost always turns out for the better! Tonight this blog post comes to you from my tastebuds, because they are currently doing the dance of joy! If your tastebuds want to join in on the jigg, please do them a favor and bake this now!

Because this recipe calls for 4 mini loaves of bread, I halved the recipe to cut my losses before they began. My hips may thank me later, because Christmas cookie season is right around the corner…
Snickerdoodle Bread (Cinnamon Butterscotch variation)

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup butter softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
3/4 cup sour cream
1 pkg. Hershey’s cinnamon chips (or Nestle butterscotch if you’re feeling daring)
3 TB sugar
2 tsp. cinnamon

Cream butter, sugar, salt, and cinnamon until fluffy. (I used a fork and my hands since I didn’t have a beater) Add eggs and mix well.

Mix flour and baking powder in a separate bowl. Add to wet ingredients and mix until all combined.

Add cinnamon chips (or butterscotch) and stir into batter. Set aside.

Spoon batter into 4 mini loaf pans until about 2/3 full.

Mix 3 TB sugar and 3 TB cinnamon in a bowl and sprinkle over the batter in each loaf pan (the more you coat it with, the crunchier the top will be. I like crunchy!)

Bake at 350 for 35-38 minutes. Let cool before removing from pan. (even if you halve the recipe this time stays the same and makes the edges crunchy golden brown.)

~Typing this makes me want another piece!!~

THEN- Let your tastebuds dance the samba as they cha cha into baking heaven!


There weren’t any tricks in my house tonight. Only treats, and yummy ones at that!

Happy Fall everyone, and enjoy!

~Mal the Beef Gal AKA Betty Crocker

