On a day like today, where most everyone in America can reflect on some part of the day twelve years ago today when tragedy struck America and changed the hearts of many Americans, it makes me thankful to, in fact, be an American. It amazes me how something so horrible can revive the fellowship of people, cooperation, camaraderie, compassion, sympathy, care, and strength of the people. I’ve witnessed that many times today through the stories and memories you have shared on social media today.

On a day like today, it is interesting to be in the state of New York.

While today I haven’t had regular contact with the “outside world,” per say, my heart feels heavy for the men and women who were the heroes, the survivors, and the lost of September 11, 2001. I watched a short documentary called “Boatlift:  an untold tale of 9/11 resilience”. (Thank you Katie Pinke for sharing) One of the men in the documentary said something that resonated within my heart. He said, “I believe everybody has a little hero in them. You gotta look in. And it’s in there. It’ll come out. If need be.”

The reason I didn’t have any normal contact with the outside world today was because I was in the first day of a training program for my new job that will help me find the hero in everyone. Today I am outside of Ithaca, NY learning how to be a mobile marketing associate for the fall HungerU tour. Together, my two teammates and I, will travel from New York to Florida engaging in conversations with college students at 16 different college campuses about global hunger awareness and what we can do to find a solution. We are spreading the message that it will take all of us to be the solution to hunger, and farmers and ranchers and the advanced technology they have available to them can be part of the solution.

HungerU Swag

Here is the HungerU swag I received today. I can’t wait to read these books to learn more about the effects of hunger.

Today we learned more about the HungerU mission and who we will be working with. We got to see our exhibit trailer, learn about talking points, and visit with our director and tour lead about our roles as mobile marketing associates. We also heard from our new friends at Charleston|Orwig about how we can be a part of the HungerU social media platforms. Over all it was a great first day.

 

However, the meaning behind today, the eleventh of September, stood in the back of my mind. I didn’t want to go the day without making some mention of how my heart reflected on today, as I, too, have a memory. My story goes like this:

I was just arriving to school entering the classroom, when my friend Chelsea turned to me and said, “Did you hear the Golden Gate bridge burned down?” With much shock, I was confused for a while, but then we spent the morning watching the news about the planes that had crashed into the Twin Towers in New York, as my teacher let us in on a bit of scary history that would change the world forever. Today, I am thankful to be able to make each day a new adventure, as some of us are not so lucky anymore.

My mantra for the next 9 weeks as I am away from my family and loved ones:  find the hero in everyone.

How will you be the hero of hunger? I’ll have more and more ways to help you discover that looking forward.

Love and peace to you all.

~Mal the Beef Gal

