This West Coast girl finds herself in the South once again, this time in Columbus, GA, revisiting an experience of a lifetime in a different way.DSC_0284Last fall, I was a part of the HungerU Tour as one of three HungerU crew members charged with the task of inspiring forward action to help solve the world hunger crisis through education with the HungerU Tour exhibit. We traveled to 20 different college campuses and universities to visit with students on the East Coast about the difference we can all make in the world hunger crisis.

After the conclusion of the fall tour at the University of Florida, I made my way back to California, and soon after started my new adventure with the California Cattlemen’s Association as associate director of communications. But now I find myself back with the new HungerU crew for the weekend, helping inspire them to do great things during the spring HungerU Tour!

Today, I continue my communication training and am participating in my own activity:  write a blog. This morning we went over the importance of social media presence and how to effectively communicate with an audience across various channels including Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Now, we are to the blog portion.

While I sit and listen to typing fingers around me, I decided to practice what I am preaching. Blogging can be challenging, but the best place to start is to simply begin. The format I have provided the HU Crew looks like this:

Introduction- introduce the theme of your blog

Background- include the Who, What, When, Where, and Why

Story Pieces- use the next few paragraphs to include the specific stories you want to include in this blog

Conclusion- summarize your theme and present an action statement.

While they practice this, I’ll explain my theme. You’ll notice that the title of this blog is a hashtag- #HungerCantWait. This is a new hashtag that the HungerU Tour will be using throughout their travels to link conversations and inspire that forward action.

After having been a part of the HungerU Tour, inspiring forward action is the ultimate call to action. Make a difference, because you can.

If you’re interested in following along with the new HungerU Crew- Mallory, Marshall, Tray, and Mollie- check them out online on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and the HungerU blog! Don’t forget to use the #HungerCantWait hashtag to share your efforts in being a part of the solution, too!

Have you thought about the action you will take to be a part of the solution to the world hunger crisis, because #HungerCantWait.

