Happy 2015! As with every new year, we all get a new start at the things we want to improve in our lives! How neat is that? It’s as if at midnight on December 31 we give ourselves permission to live again~ knowing it will last approximately 31 days and we’ll go back to the same ol’, same ol’.

This year I’m not having any of that. Sure, I wrote down some things that I want to focus on as we move into the new year, but they all revolve around one thing:  my health. I’m also calling my “new year’s resolutions” goals, with the intention to keep them around longer than a month, because I plan to bring these with me all the way into 2015 and beyond!

My main goal for 2015 is to get stronger. Plain and simple. Mentally and physically. I’m short, but that doesn’t mean I have to settle for being weak. And I won’t!

arm

In the 5th grade my PE teacher referred to my arms as ‘girlie muscles.’ This is my wimpy little arm at the beginning of its new journey!

My other goals include:

1.) Get stronger. I’m not a huge fan of running, but that shouldn’t stop me from working out. In fact, I’ve spent most of my workouts the past few days on the floor, concentrating on my core. I’m doing squats, lunges, planking, push-ups, and some funky moves I found in Self magazine! (If JLo can look like that, so can I, right?) I can already tell a difference from Monday evening when I attempted an exercise that starts you on all fours and you’re supposed to swivel and pivot on one foot and flip yourself over AND hold yourself up with your arm- only one of them. When I tried it Monday, I fell down, but tonight I did 10 of them! I’m measuring my success in small units, knowing I can only go up!

2.) Drink more milk. Although I’ve always been a fan of the dairy community, I’ve not been a huge fan of milk unless it had a little (or a lot) of chocolate in it. When I moved into my apartment last January, I would buy a half gallon of milk and throw what I couldn’t drink in my cereal before it expired out. I decided that was way too much milk for me and began buying quarts of milk. Even still, almost every week I would throw most of it away. I’m proud to say, this week I am on my second quart AND I drank the first one waaaaaay before its expiration date! I have to admit, I’m easing myself into it with chocolate syrup, but a friend suggested chocolate protein powder I might give a shot. Regardless, I’m loving milk now!

3.) Waste less food. Since I was involved with the HungerU program advocating for a change in the hunger crisis, I have been very conscious about food waste, but always fell short after trying. Take my reducing from a gallon to a quart of milk for example. I tried, but it wasn’t good enough. This week I am happy to report that I have nearly consumed everything I purchased at the grocery store on Sunday! Try it sometime. Plan a shopping list and stick to it. Treat it like a game of “eat the food before it rots or expires” and see if you can get through your entire batch of food from your shopping trip! It’s a super satisfying feeling when you do, and you know you are making a difference in the growing food crisis!

Of course I have more goals, but I’ve chosen these three to focus on for now. With baby steps, we can achieve our goals a little at a time!

What are your goals for 2015? How will you keep yourself accountable? Where are you gaining your inspiration? Grab a workout buddy or take a friend or roomie to go grocery shopping with you! Or check out Jenny’s perspective over at the Prairie Californian, where I gain daily inspiration to keep up with my goals!

Here’s to achieving more in 2015 and sticking with our new years plans over the next 12 months and beyond!

~Mal the Beef Gal

